© Stuart M Bennett 2000

Schedule 1:

Part I - Birds protected by special penalties at all times:

Avocet Owl, Barn
Bee-eater Owl, Snowy
Bittern Peregrine
Bittern, Little Petrel, Leach's
Bluethroat Phalarope, Red-necked
Brambling Plover, Kentish
Bunting, Cirl Plover, Little Ringed
Bunting, Lapland Quail, Common
Bunting, Snow Redstart, Black
Buzzard, Honey Redwing
Chough Rosefinch, Scarlet
Corncrake Ruff
Crake, Spotted Sandpiper, Green
Crossbill (all species) Sandpiper, Purple
Divers (all species) Sandpiper, Wood
Dotterel Scaup
Duck, Long-tailed Scoter, Common
Eagle, Golden Scoter, Velvet
Eagle, White-tailed Serin
Falcon, Gyr Shorelark
Fieldfare Shrike, Red-backed
Firecrest Spoonbill
Garganey Stilt, Black-winged
Godwit, Black-tailed Stint, Temminck's
Goshawk Stone-curlew
Grebe, Black-necked Swan, Bewick's
Grebe, Slavonian Swan, Whooper
Greenshank Tern, Black
Gull, Little Tern, Little
Gull, Mediterranean Tern, Roseate
Gyrfalcon Tit, Bearded
Harriers (all species) Tit, Crested
Heron, Purple Treecreeper, Short-toed
Hobby Warbler, Cetti's
Hoopoe Warbler, Dartford
Kingfisher Warbler, Marsh
Kite, Red Warbler, Savi's
Merlin Whimbrel
Oriole, Golden Woodlark
Osprey Wryneck

Part II - Birds and their eggs protected by special penalties during the close season, 1st February to 31st August (21st February to 31st August below high water mark) but which may be killed or taken at other times.

1. Goldeneye.

2. Greylag Goose (in Outer Hebrides, Caithness, Sutherland and Wester Ross only).

3. Pintail.

Back to main Law page